Time travel to conference:   2022   2019   2018   2017   2016   2015   2014   2013   2011   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006   2005   2004

24th Annual
2018 Pacific Northwest VHF Society Conference

October 12 - 13, 2018
Seaside, Oregon

2018 Group Photo of PNWVHFS
2018 Group Photo of PNWVHFS. There were 57 attendees.
See the 2018 Photo Gallery.

Best Western Ocean View Hotel, Seaside, Oregon
Best Western Ocean View Resort, 414 North Prom, Seaside, Oregon 97138 See Google map (Directions) .

2018 Presentations and Papers

2018 Schedule

Registration and check-in with Hal N7NW Registration and check-in   — Hal N7NW (off-site)
Look closely - Hal is using his remote station.

Microwave transverters show and tell Microwave Show and Tell   — Hospitality Suite

Friday dinner at Pizza Harbor Friday Dinner   — Pizza Harbor (Directions) 

Opening remarks and introductions Opening Remarks and Introductions

RF Power Dividers RF Power Dividers (PDF)    — Jim K7ND (off-site)

Solid State Power Amplifier, High Power Update SSPA High Power Update (PDF)    — Jim W6PQL (off-site)

Coast to Coast Grid Expedition Coast-to-Coast Grid Expedition (PDF)    — Barry K7BWH (off-site)

Microwave Special Interest Group Microwave Transverter Build Report (PDF)    — Ray W7GLF (off-site)

Catered lunch at Best Western Hotel Catered Lunch   — Best Western (off-site)

Officer Elections   — President Gary WA7BBJ (off-site)
Treasurer's Report   — Treasurer Jim K7ND (off-site)
Proposal to Co-host 2020 Conference with CSVHF (off-site)   — Jim K7ND (off-site)
FT8 Frequencies on VHF in the PNW   — Jim K7ND (off-site)

Awards by Chuck N6KW Parallel Awards    — Contest Chair Chuck N6KW (off-site)

KB6KQ Lifetime Achievement Award for Chuck N6KW Excellence Award for Chuck N6KW

Presentation of Society's honor awards 2018 VHFer of the Year Award for Ray W7GLF

Prize drawings Prize Drawings

Group photo Group Photo   — Lewis & Clark Conference Room

Dinner at Shilo Inn with Paul, John and Leona Dinner   — Shilo Inn (Directions) 


Chuck Miller N6KW — Lifetime Achievement Award

Chuck Miller N6KW

For his many years of support in accumulating and processing contest logs, reporting contest results, and presenting the Society’s awards at the annual conference. This has been rewarding for everyone and, in turn, grants local recognition for all the great on-the-air activity in the Pacific Northwest.

Ray Cannon W7GLF — 2018 VHFer of the Year

Ray Cannon W7GLF

For kickstarting regional microwave activity by starting a new microwave email reflector, organizing projects and purchases and build activity, providing technical advice and programming, and helping hams get on 10 GHz and other microwave bands.

Susan Telewski WB7BST — Honorable Mention

Susan Telewski WB7BST

For keeping the 1296 net going even while participation declined. Susan's steadfast and reliable weekly net spurs interest in 1296 MHz and her weekly email maintains awareness and encourages activity.

Grand Prize Winners

Thanks to donated prizes by Icom, Yaesu, Directive Systems and the ARRL, we had great prizes at the 24th Annual PNW VHF Conference in Seaside, Oregon. The grand prize winners were:

Greg Lahaie K7YDL Icom IC-7100 (off-site) went to Greg Lahaie K7YDL of Hillsboro, OR

Jerry Johnson K0JJ Yaesu FTM-400DR (off-site) went to Jerry Johnson K0JJ of Scappoose, OR.